The St. Louis County Police Bureau of Central Police Records is located in room B-013, on the street level accessible from the Central Avenue entrance of the Police Headquarters Building at 7900 Forsyth in Clayton, Missouri.
The Bureau of Central Police Records is open to the public from 7:30 A.M. to 5:00 P.M.*, Monday through Friday (excluding holidays)and provides the following services:
Criminal History Record Checks
Police Reports and Traffic Accident Reports
Sex Offender Registration
Conceal Carry Permits
Security Officer Licensing
*Some applications require extra time to process and will not be started after 4:30 P.M. Please arrive before 4:30 if you need a permit or license.
Criminal History Record Checks
Criminal History Record Checks are requested by individuals for a number of reasons. The St. Louis County Police Department can provide Criminal History Record Checks for both St. Louis County and St. Louis City.
Criminal History Record Checks may be obtained by applying in person with the following identification:
- Drivers License - Missouri
- Drivers License AND Social Security Card (if SSN is not on license) NOTE: a SSN card is required if presenting an out-of-state Drivers License
- Birth Certificate, original or sealed copy AND Social Security Card AND picture ID
- Military Identification
- Immigration and Naturalization ID AND Social Security Card
- Missouri State Identification
- State Identification AND Social Security Card if SSN not on ID (if out-of-state ID)
- Legible Traffic Citations with Social Security Number AND Picture ID
If using more than one type of identification, i.e. Drivers License and Social Security Card, both forms of identification must be in the same name. A Marriage Certificate/Divorce Decree/Court Documents are required for any legal name change.
Eligibility and Cost
The St. Louis County Police Department will provide arrest/conviction information directly to an individual, or to a second party - in person or by mail - if that second party can present a notarized statement signed by the subject named in the record check. A record check cost, for a criminal history record check for incidents that occurred within St. Louis County is $4.50 and a criminal history record check for incidents that occurred within the City of St. Louis is $4.50. The total cost for a City and County Record Check is $9.00.
Special Provisions - Open Arrests and Wanted/Outstanding Warrants
The record information will include open arrest and conviction information from St. Louis County and conviction information only from St. Louis City. Please note that an open arrest is not considered a conviction. Employers are advised to consult with EEOC laws and regulations relating to use of arrest/conviction information for employment practices.
The St. Louis County Police Department will not issue complete records transcripts on individuals who are currently wanted or have an outstanding warrant from St. Louis County. In these cases, the forms will be returned without a record check and with only the County wanted/warrant information noted. After the individual has cleared the wanted or warrant, the record check should be requested again to show the updated record.
All employers will be required to:
- utilize the St. Louis County arrest information form,
- submit a separate notarized statement containing full name, date of birth, social security number, race, sex, and signature from the subject,
- make payment of $9.00 per application ($4.50 for County record check and $4.50 for City record check).
Checks or money orders should be made payable to The Treasurer of St. Louis County.
Forms may be obtained in person, or may be downloaded from the links below:
Should you have any questions regarding these procedures or policies, call the Bureau of Central Police Records at (314) 615-5317 during regular business hours.
Police Reports and Traffic Accident Reports
St. Louis County Police Reports are available from the Bureau of Central Police Records ten days after the reported incident. The cost per report is $6.50 cash or check made payable to Treasurer-St. Louis County. A copy of the report may be obtained by appearing in person or by mailing your request in the form of a notarized statement. Please be sure to include the report number and the reason for obtaining the report. Because of statutory requirements, the Bureau of Central Police Records will need to know how you are involved in the report and the reason you are obtaining the report. Acceptable reasons for obtaining the report may be that you are the victim, suspect, driver (traffic accident only), attorney for victim, insurance company, property owner, family member (traffic accident only) or news media (traffic accident only). In-person pick ups require a photo ID.
Active or on-going investigation reports are not available.
Availability of reports is dependent upon the provisions of the Sunshine Law (RSMo Chapter 610)
Form may be obtained in person, or may be downloaded from the link below:
For further information, please call (314) 615-5317
Sex Offender Registration
All convicted sex offenders, those convicted of felonies and/or misdemeanors, are required to register with the chief law enforcement official of the county in which the person resides within 3 days of changing residency. Convicted sex offenders may register in the Sex Offender Registry Unit Monday through Friday 8:00 A.M. to 4:00 P.M. (excluding holidays). (RSMo 566.600)
New registrations are made by appointment only. The sex offender registration detective may be contacted at (314) 615-3761
Concealed Carry Permits
Those seeking information of the procedure for obtaining a Concealed Carry Permit will find an explanation of the procedure as implemented in St. Louis County, as well as links to all pertinent legislation on our Concealed Carry page.
At least 19 years of age.
A citizen of The United States.
Has assumed residency in this state; or
A member of the armed forces stationed in Missouri, or spouse of such member.
Has not been convicted of or pled guilty to or entered a plea of nolo contendere to a felony crime.
Has not received a suspended imposition of sentence - (SIS) for a felony crime.
Has not been convicted of, pled guilty to, or entered a plea of nolo contendere to one or more misdemeanor offenses involving crimes of violence within a 5 year period immediately preceding application for a permit to carry concealed.
Has not been convicted of 2 or more misdemeanor offenses involving driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs or the possession or abuse of a controlled substance within a 5 year period immediately preceding application for a permit to carry concealed.
Is not a fugitive from justice.
Is not presently on in an information or indictment.
Has not been discharged under dishonorable conditions from the United States armed forces.
Has not engaged in a pattern of behavior, documented in public records that causes the sheriff to have reasonable belief that the applicant presents a danger to himself or others.
Is not adjudged mentally incompetent or has been committed to a mental health facility.
Attended a concealed carry safety class conducted by a certified firearms instructor.
Is not the respondent of a valid full order of protection which is still in effect.
PLEASE NOTE: LONGER THAN NORMAL WAIT TIMES SHOULD BE EXPECTED WHEN APPLYING FOR CONCEALED CARRY PERMITS ON MONDAYS, FRIDAYS, AND THE LAST WEEK OF EACH MONTH
No new applications for Concealed Carry Weapons Permits will be accepted after 4:30 PM.
Forms may be obtained in person, or may be downloaded from the links below. Please complete and bring to the Central Records Division. Do not mail applications. Downloadable Application
Before applying for a Concealed Carry Permit, make sure that you can comply with the requirements below:
For additional information concerning a Missouri Carry Conceal Permit please call 615-4272 or see our Concealed Carry page.
Private Security Licensing
For information concerning professional licensing of security personnel, please call (314) 615-4272
Clerks will be available to process applications between the hours of 7:30 A.M. and 4:30 P.M. Monday through Friday.
Longer than expected wait times may be experienced on Mondays, Fridays and each last week of the month.
No applications for new or renewal licenses will be accepted after 4:30 P.M.
DO NOT APPLY FOR A LICENSE IF:
- You have been denied a security license in the past year
- Your metro license is currently revoked
- You have a felony conviction or criminal charges that are pending a disposition
- You have been convicted of stealing, assault, domestic violence or crimes involving moral turpitude within the last 3 years
- You are currently on probation (includes SIS)
A NATIONWIDE CRIMINAL RECORD CHECK WILL BE CONDUCTED
ALL APPLICATIONS ARE SUBJECT TO REVIEW AND MAY BE DENIED FOR REASONS OTHER THAN THOSE LISTED ABOVE
The Private Security Licensing Application and Professional Licensing Manual may be downloaded from the link below:
The Bureau of Central Police Records provides fingerprinting services for $3.00 per card. Please click here to see a list of required ID - no SSN required.
For fingerprinting information, call (314) 615-3941 during regular business hours. No appointment is necessary
The last week of each month is a high volume time for the Bureau of Central Police Records. To avoid long lines, it is strongly suggested that you schedule your visit with this fact in mind.
Some applications require additional processing time. You must arrive before 4:30 P.M. for license and permit applications.
If you would like more information about the Bureau of Central Police Records, please feel free to call or click on the e-mail link below. We look forward to serving you in the future.
St. Louis County Police Department
7900 Forsyth Blvd
Clayton, MO 63105
Emergency Calls: Call 911
Non-Emergency Reporting / General Information: (636) 529-8210
TDD: (636) 529-8220